#### **MONTEREY EARLY HISTORY**

#### 1780s-1805

The Avery Trace and its improvements, which became the Walton Road ran through the area called Standing Stone and was still a part of Cherokee lands. An 1805 treaty sold it to Tennessee.

#### 1806

Overton County was formed to the north of the Walton Road and White County to the south. White settlers started pouring in. The community, called Standing Stone had its first two stands (inns). By 1827, it had its first post office and school.

For many years, a late 16-ft. high stone monolith stood on the western edge of what is now Monterey. Resembling an old gray dog, it was believed to be constructed by Paleo-Indians at least 1,500 years ago. When the railroad arrived in August, 1893, they blew it up. The Improved Order Of Redmen took a small portion of what was left and constructed a monument and dedicated it in October 1895, where it still stands today, in Whittaker Park.

### MARCH/APRIL, 1893

Thomas Jefferson and Nancy Whittaker sold to the Cumberland Mountain Coal Company land that would become Monterey.

### JUNE, 1893

The Town of Monterey plat, designed by Robert Moscript, the civil engineer who laid out the Nashville & Samp; Knoxville Railroad (N & Samp; K RR) was registered in the Putnam Register of Deeds office by John H. Onstott, of the Cumberland Coal Company.

### **AUGUST, 1893**

The RAILROAD COMES TO TOWN. Alexander Crawford's Nashville & Knoxville Railroad reached Monterey and transportation has never been the same. For years, it took days to get to Nashville, now only took hours. Unfortunately, the ancient Standing Stone was in the railroad #8217's pathway. As remnants were blown up. Fortunately, the Improved Order of Redman rescued a 816 lbs. portion and had it engraved in Cookeville and returned in Oct. 1895.

## DECEMBER, 1893

The Tennessee Secretary of State officially registered then corporation of the Town of Monterey.

# JANUARY, 1894

The First Board of Mayor and Aldermen: Mayor Robert Lee Ray; and Aldermen John F. Sehon, John W. Welch, James Calvin Walker and James Edward Jones. They served until an election was held in December 1894.